Saturday , July 24 2021

“Dream Team” coach Daly was posthumously inducted into the FIBA ​​Hall of Fame in 2021

Chuck Daly is the latest contributor to the FIBA ​​Hall of Fame © Getty Images

Chuck Daly, the head coach of the U.S. men’s basketball team at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics, was posthumously inducted into the 2021 International Basketball Federation (FIBA) Hall of Fame.

On his way to the Olympic gold medal, Daly supervised the famous “Dream Team” – in which some of the best players in the world competed.

Stars like Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen, Larry Bird, Karl Malone, Charles Barkley and Magic Johnson have been part of what is considered to be the largest international basketball team they have ever assembled.

He was also the coach of the Detroit Pistons and won two National Basketball Federation (NBA) titles in 1989 and 1990.

Daly died in 2009 at the age of 78 from pancreatic cancer.

He is joined in the class by Greek Panagiotis Giannakis, who was recognized for taking his country to the 1987 EuroBasket after his victory against the Soviet Union.

Two years later, he led his team to the finals again and won a silver medal – and ended his national team career with 351 captains for Greece.

Italian Ettore Messina is still one of the best names after three decades of coaching, having established himself as one of the biggest in Europe with four Euroleague championships.

Also in class in 2021 is AfroBasket Olympic and three-time Mathieu Faye winner in Senegal, along with Olympic and world champion Sergei Tarakanov of Russia, three-time NBA star Detlef Schrempf and top scorer at the 1956 Melbourne Olympic Games Oscar Mogcar.

Five-time Czechoslovak League champion and EuroBasket silver medalist from Slovakia, double Olympic medalist Penka Stoyanova and Haixia Zheng from Bulgaria and China, World Cup runner-up in the basketball title and EuroBasket champion Czech Hana Horakova and double Olympic medalist Mastra Upo.

Canada’s twice most valuable NBA player (MVP) Steve Nash has been confirmed as the top name in a group of 12 candidates at the 2020 International Basketball Federation Hall of Fame.

Nash, considered one of the greatest Canadian basketball players to date, is the only player from his homeland to receive the Most Valuable Player award, recognized alongside some of the best in history, including Michael Jordan, LeBron James and Larry Bird.

He is also the silver medalist of the AmeriCup from the 1999 edition, and in the final he lost 92: 66 against the strong favorites of the USA.

Steve Nash is considered one of the best non-American NBA players of all time Getty Images
Steve Nash is considered one of the best non-American NBA players of all time Getty Images

Nash also led his national team to the 2000 Sydney Olympics, which took them to the quarterfinals before a narrow defeat by France.

The Hall of Fame 2020 was supposed to be last year before the COVID-19 pandemic forced its postponement to 2021.

It will take place at a ceremony in 2021 on June 18 in a digital event.

In the Hall of Fame, he was joined by the Serb Svetislav Pešić, who is considered one of the best national team coaches so far.

He led Germany hosts to the EuroBasket title shortly after reunification in 1993, before leading Yugoslavia to victory in the EuroBasket in 2001 and in the 2002 Basketball World Cup title.

Ukrainian Alexander Volkov is credited with being part of the Soviet Union team that won the EuroBasket in 1985 and then the gold medal at the 1988 Seoul Olympics.

The 2020 Hall of Fame also features Olympic gold medalist and two-time world champion from Lithuania Modestas Paulauskas, world champion, silver Olympic medalist and two-time EuroBasket winner Jure Zdovc and Polish World Cup top scorer from Poland Mieczysław Łopatka from Poland.

Nine-time Japanese league champions Kenichi Sako, women’s EuroBasket winner and 204-time Frenchwoman Isabelle Fijalkowski, four-time EuroBasket bronze medalist for Hungary’s Agnes Nemeth of Hungary and FIBA ​​World Cup runner-up Park Koreci Shin-indu.

Atlanta 1996 Olympic gold medalist Tara VanDerveer of the United States and Athens 2004 champion of Argentina Ruben Magnano are also part of the 2020 class.

For the first time, players from Canada, Hungary, Japan, South Korea and Ukraine will be introduced.

Source link